if we had no moon

The Man Who Colours Stars
Christmas Star
3 Minutes To Impact

THE COMPLETE COSMOS – An Encyclopaedia of Space & Astronomy

The 25 episodes of THE COMPLETE COSMOS divide into five main sections – the Sun and the Inner Planets, Mars and the Outer Planets, Blast Off! (exploration), Space Watch (history and the search for extra-terrestrial life) and Deep Space.  View a clip from each section.

Sun and the Inner Planets (Episodes 1 to 5)
Mars and the Outer Planets (Episodes 6 to 10)
Blast Off! (Episodes 11 to 15)
Space Watch (Episodes 16 to 20)
Deep Space (Episodes 21 to 25)

Sun and the Inner Planets

1.  Our Star is Born
Birth, life and death of the Sun. Interior dynamics, exterior fireworks.  Sunspots, corona, solar wind - all about our local star.

2.  Mercury
The most comprehensive portrait ever of this scorched little planet.  Double sunrises, craters, cracks and - incongruously - maybe polar ice.

3.  Venus
Beneath the clouds - planetary hell. A poisonous, crushing atmosphere, searing heat, volcanoes and a runaway greenhouse effect. Why?

4.   Blue Planet
Evolution of the Earth - and of life. Internal structure, continental drift, day length, seasons, oceans, climate, weather and El Nino.

5.  Moon
Born of collision, the story of the Moon. Its influence on Earth. Apollo landings and the possible discovery of water.